Silent Night, Enchanting Lights

Many a cold, dark night growing up were spent in the car driving around in an anticipated search of those pretty, warm, sparkly things people like to see displayed outside around Christmas. I was so drawn to these pretty lights in their various forms: strands around homes or trees, Christmas and winter symbols illuminated in different sizes and colors all craving my attention. Just like any other kid (and still guilty of the same pleasure) “ooing and awing” at the lights in neighborhoods, or Christmas light driving displays, I was captivated by what I saw. I treasured those brightly chilled moments with my family and friends. It was a time to enjoy the companionship and the quiet. I will admit, I am still not great with silence. I often have music or something on in the background while working, at home and especially in the car. But every now and then I stop the music and let the silence in, even if just for a brief moment.

Such a simple thing has so much power and recognition during a season: lights. However, this got me thinking that the light of the Lord is not as simple a concept, yet infinitely more powerful. It is His light that should have the “ooing and awing” from our captivated attention. Christmas is a wonderful time of year that seems to promote being easily distracted by the shiny, loud things and the busy time that accompanies the season instead of a time to pause, reflect and focus on the light that has enabled us to be where we are today and never burns out. Take pleasure in the lights and festivities, but use those lights as a reminder that we have nothing to fear with Christ’s Light on our side. I invite you (myself included) to steal a moment to soak in the lights and silence of the season and let that moment be a reminder of God’s light and the message of Psalm 27:

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

When the wicked advance against me
to devour me,
it is my enemies and my foes
who will stumble and fall.

Though an army besiege me,
my heart will not fear;
though war break out against me,
even then I will be confident.

One thing I ask from the Lord,
this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the Lord
and to seek him in his temple.

Reflection by Kaela McWherter, Student Success Coordinator

Leave a Reply

